STRIKING COMMITTEE OF COUNCIL REPORT

1. That the appointments of the Chairs and Vice-Chairs to the Standing Committees of Council for the one-year period ending November 14, 2023, be approved.

Community & Infrastructure Services Committee

Councillor M. Johnston (Chair) and Councillor D. Schnider (Vice-Chair)

Finance & Corporate Services Committee

Councillor S. Davey (Chair) and Councillor B. Ioannidis (Vice-Chair)

Planning & Strategic Initiatives Committee

Councillor P. Singh (Chair) and Councillor D. Chapman (Vice-Chair)

2. That the following appointments to the Quasi-judicial Committees and Boards of Council for the specified terms, be approved.

Animal Designation Appeal Committee (2 years)

Councillors J. Deneault, A. Owodunni and M. Johnston (Alternate)

Belmont Improvement Area Board of Directors (4 years)

Councillor M. Johnston

Committee of Adjustment (2 years)

Robert Hannah, Srikanth Desikachar, David Gundrum, Douglas Pateman and Brian Santos

Committee of Revision (2 years)

Councillors S. Davey, P. Singh and B. Ioannidis

Dog Designation Appeal Committee (2 years)

Councillors J. Deneault, A. Owodunni and M. Johnston (Alternate)

Kitchener Downtown Business Improvement Association (4 years)

Mayor B. Vrbanovic and Councillors D. Chapman and A. Clancy

Enova Power Corp.

Councillor S. Davey (September 1, 2022 – May 31, 2024)

Enova Energy Corporation

Councillors B. Ioannidis (June 1, 2022 – May 31, 2023), P. Singh (November 21, 2022 – May 31, 2024) and C. Michaud (June 1, 2023 – May 31, 2024)

Kitchener Public Library (4 years)

Councillors M. Johnston and C. Michaud, Katherine Andrews, Shannon Nicholson, Clare Wagner, Anjali Misra, Dan Deeth, Maggie Lam, Brandon Van Dam, Laura Blythe, Bonita Hansra, Shane Guadeloupe (Alternate) and Jason Hammond (Alternate)

Property Standards Committee (2 years)

Mike Pulley, Sharlene Mohlman, Cyrus Medina and Sean McKelvie

3. That the following appointments to the Advisory Committees of Council for the specified terms, be approved.

Active Transportation and Trails Advisory Committee (2 years)

Councillor A. Clancy, Matthew Bells, Emily Bennett, Jorg Broschek, Philip Charbonneau, Lynn Dramnitzki, Bart Forwell, Victoria Hand, Josh Orita, Greg Piccini, Rida Rahman, Craig Reynolds, Barry Tracey and Wanda West

Arts and Culture Advisory Committee (2 years)

Councillor D. Schnider, Canan Altinkas, Chandrika Anjaria, Ivy Bhattacharjee, Annabelle Girard, Maggie Iaam, Anna McWebb, Maria Melo, Jeffrey Paquette, Isabella Stefanescu, Mark Waddell and Esther Wainaina

Climate Change and Environment Committee (2 years)

Councillor S. Davey and A. Clancy, Klas Bockasten, Jennifer Clary-Lemon, Morgan Garner, Gudmundur Johannesson, Braden Kurczak, Kyle Loveless, Veronica Nhio-Son, Mahyar Shafii, Farzaneh Tohidi, Brian Unrau, Brooklin Wallis and Seth Wynes

Compass Kitchener (2 years)

Evren Aitinkas, Kim Brabazon, Troy Glover, Alide Fortmanis, Ruth Lavender, Wasai Rahimi, Judy Stephens-Wells, Linda Terry, Lee-Anne Thompson, Lori Trumper and James Young

Downtown Action & Advisory Committee (2 years)

Councillors D. Chapman and A. Clancy, Sandra Castle, Joel Leslie, Jeannette Makad, Ben Campbell, William Turman, Graham Trusler, Brandon Van Dam and Isabela Wyllie

Economic Development Advisory Committee (4 years)

Councillors P. Singh, D. Schnider and M. Johnston, Ali Akbar, Mark Bingeman, Ben Campbell, Joe Curto, Srikanth Desikachar, Chuck Howitt, Oanh Kasperski, Paul Kreutner, Matthew Kruschack, Jason Malfara, Laura Rodriguez Reyes, Keean Sarani, Graham Trusler and Barclay Whittaker

Heritage Kitchener Committee (2 years)

Councillors C. Michaud and D. Chapman, Ilona Bodendorfer, Brianne Casey, Peter Ciuciura, Shannon Eckel-Braun, Taijwant (Tony) Geer, Jean Haalboom, Natalie Pikulski, Andrew Portengen, Des Rosskopf, Robyn Schwarz and Donny Vongphakdy

Equity & Anti-Racism Committee (2 years)

Ann Marie Beals, Avni Adams, Ayesha Munir, Danny Martin, Fiorella Benini, Leo Campbell, Oluseun Olayinka, Paul Okoye, Rida Rahman, Saba Oji, Veronica Vasquez and Yexin Tan

4. That the following appointments to Other Committees/Organizations for the specified terms, except as otherwise noted, be approved.

Grand River Accessibility Advisory Committee (1 year)

Councillor J. Deneault

Grand River Hospital Board of Trustees (1 year)

*To Be Determined

Homer Watson House Foundation (1 year)

Councillor C. Michaud

Horticultural Society of Kitchener Board of Directors (1 year)

Councillor D. Chapman

Huron Natural Area Joint Ventures Committee (1 year)

Councillors A. Owodunni and J. Deneault

Kitchener in Bloom (1 year)

Councillors D. Schnider and P. Singh

Kitchener-Waterloo Art Gallery Board of Directors (1 year)

Councillor D. Schnider

Multicultural Centre of K-W Board of Directors (1 year)

Councillor A. Owodunni

Oktoberfest Inc. Advisory Council – Kitchener-Waterloo (1 year)

Councillors C. Michaud and D. Schnider

Wilfrid Laurier University Board of Governors (1 year)

Mayor B. Vrbanovic

5. That the following appointments be approved as indicated.

Centre in the Square Board of Directors (1 year)

Councillor C. Michaud, B. Ioanndis and S. Davey, Alex Kinsella and Kayleigh Platz

Kitchener Housing Inc. Board of Directors (4 years)

Councillor B. Ioannidis and J. Deneault, Melanie Goodfellow, Andrew Vlcek, Cassandra O'Brien, Tara Bedard and Andrew Portengen

6. That notwithstanding the provisions of Clause 3.1 of Council Policy GOV-BOA-63 (Appointments to Boards and Committees), Council hereby confirms the following appointments in excess of the maximum allowable years of service; namely:

Mark Bingeman Economic Development Advisory Committee

7. That Council authorizes members of Council to participate on Association of Municipalities of Ontario and Federation of Canadian Municipalities boards and committees and agrees to cover expenses associated with attendance at meetings.